View Full Version : Program run on CPU with 2 core....

10-06-2012, 02:10 AM
if i run the program on CPU having 2 cores,which i ran on gpu having many cores and in cycles all threads ran simultaneously,but .how it will be run on CPU? if there are more than 2 threads are required and if we have 2 core on CPU then how it will run on CPU....

10-06-2012, 03:56 AM
like if i am use intel core 2 Duo processor......

10-06-2012, 02:26 PM
The short answer is that it will run, assuming your code does not use device specific features (e.g. Nvidia extensions). How the work items get mapped to cpu cores is implementation specific.

An OpenCL implementation might treat each work item as a separate thread and only launch two threads a time. Work items could be combined by using SSE instructions (vectorizing the code).

10-08-2012, 09:58 PM
i am using nvidia ,intel i5.....
in CPU one core handle two thread or one thread at a time.