Collada as a good format for (semi)automatic semantic segmentation

Hi all!

I am a Physics researcher involved in a project for Cultural Heritage 3D-scene fruition. I am interested in the (semi)automatic semantic segmentation of monument scenes created by photogrammetry.
While I am getting my first results (automatic identification of columns, at the moment, and sub-segmentation into shaft, capital etc), I am investigating on the file formats to use for my output.
I need to save labeled geometries (e.g., point clouds labeled as column shaft, column capital…) at different LODs, with hierarchy and relationships (the column is composed of shaft, capital…; something is over something else…) and attributes (materials etc).
At present the output files should be on disk, but later I’ll put them on remote databases, so that the good LOD of the desired parts can be retrieved.

I am absolutely new to Collada, and I am wondering if this file format can easily accommodate my needs (object labels with hierarchy, LODs, relationships, attributes).
Any opinion, hint, link, information is welcome!
Thanks
Best regards
Giorgio

Dr Giorgio De Nunzio
University of Salento
Lecce - Italy

You should have no issues to store that data in a valid COLLADA document. I don’t think you even need an extension.

The only thing is that you will be using a semantic that you cannot expect generic Collada applications to recognize. For example, you can store LOD information, but most applications would just load and display all the versions of the object. So you’d have to add extra scripting to tell the application what to do based on the information stored in the document - unless you can use this extension directly Instance node OpenCOLLADA extension - COLLADA Public Wiki

I rarely read this forum, but I’ll be happy to help if you reach me on email remi (at) acm (dot) org

Hi Remi, thank you very much for your kind reply!
I’ll distinguish the two problems, that is: