macOS MoltenVK basic physical device features and geometryShader

Hi I recently started learning Vulkan, now that MoltenVK is open source and I can program for Vulkan on my MacBook Pro 2017.

I’ve been following Physical devices and queue families - Vulkan Tutorial
and up until this point it has been pretty simple understanding things. I’m now trying to retrieve the physical devices and test them for the needed features. My MacBook Pro 2017 has 2 GPUs in it, Intel HD Graphics 630 (Integrated) and Radeon Pro 560 (Dedicated/Discrete).

Following the above tutorial it checks if a GPU is VK_PHYSICAL_DEVICE_TYPE_DISCRETE_GPU and that the device’s features has the geometryShader flag.
Now I knew the Intel would fail the check because it’s Integrated, but the Radeon is failing on the geometryShader check. Is this a know issue with the current AMD driver’s on macOS and Vulkan at the moment?
I don’t know much about graphics (hence the learning) but I would expect a card such as the 560 Pro (one of the newest card in MacBooks) to support geometry shading, especially as the tutorial has this line of code.

// Application can’t function without geometry shaders
if (!deviceFeatures.geometryShader)
return 0;

I’m assuming it a super basic feature no?

I did some searches on google and on this forum and could find anyone reporting a similar issue.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

Oh I should add if I kept on reading the tutorial is says “Because we’re just starting out, Vulkan support is the only thing we need and therefore we’ll settle for just any GPU:”… but I would still like to know if geometryShader is consider basic functionality? Or if it’s something I’m likely to need soon after drawing a basic triangle.

MoltenVK does not currently support geometry shaders: https://github.com/KhronosGroup/MoltenVK/blob/master/Docs/MoltenVK_Runtime_UserGuide.md#known-moltenvk-limitations

I think neither does the underlying Metal, so it makes some sense.