clEnqueueReadBuffer is incredibly slow when called infrequently

Details: I’m on OS X, Iris Pro GPU - and I’m fairly new to OpenCL.

I have a few different buffers created through clCreateBuffer and some kernel tasks that operate on them.

What I am trying to do is run my kernel tasks as many times as I can within 1/60th of a second, and then copy one of the buffers to host memory so that I can render the result. I don’t want to copy the buffer out for rendering every time as it’s unnecessary to do that more than the frame requires it.

Here is the weird thing. If I call clEnqueueReadBuffer() every time after running my kernel code it takes about 6 milliseconds to complete. However, if I run my kernel code in a loop until 1/60 seconds have elapsed (so many iterations) and then call clEnqueueReadBuffer(), it takes about 4 to 5 SECONDS to complete.

Why is this happening, and how can I avoid this massive hit?

Incidentally, I’m actually using the EasyCL wrapper, so this is what is actually being called.

void CLWrapper::copyToHost() {
if(!onDevice) {
throw std::runtime_error(“copyToHost(): not on device”);
}
//cl->finish();

cl_event event = NULL;

error = clEnqueueReadBuffer(*(cl->queue), devicearray, CL_TRUE, 0, getElementSize() * N, getHostArray(), 0, NULL, &event);
cl->checkError(error);
cl_int err = clWaitForEvents(1, &event);
clReleaseEvent(event);
if (err != CL_SUCCESS) {
throw std::runtime_error("wait for event on copytohost failed with " + easycl::toString(err) );
}
deviceDirty = false;
}

When you say “if I run my kernel code in a loop until 1/60 seconds have elapsed” what you are really doing is enqueueing as many kernels as you can in 1/60 of a second. Then you try to read the results back, but you have to wait for all of them to finish. If you really only want 1/60 second of kernel execution, you need to use events to track kernel completion and stop enqueueing when you’re approaching 1/60 second, then enqueue your read.