Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: GeForce256 problem

  1. #1
    Guest

    GeForce256 problem

    I can't seem to get OpenGL to work on my new card (Asus GeForce DDR 256 v6800 Delux). I have the latest 3.75 drivers, the card works in Direct3D.

    I try playing a game called Tribes and in the area where normally I would select OpenGL(Asus blah blah), my only option is OpenGL(Generic) which does not work. Also, I tried Soldier of Fortune and it gives me a windows error, page fault in 3dfxogl.dll (I used to have a 3dfx card)

    What could some possible problems be with my games not finding OpenGL?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Guest

    Re: GeForce256 problem

    Same problem with v6600 Deluxe SGRam and Tribes. It locks the system tight. I've used stock/beta drives from Asus and Nvidia without any luck. Software mode works, but looks horriable. I took out a TNT card for the newer technology. Hate to go back to that. System is Athalon system, Asus K7M, 256 megs memory, 300watt ps, and no support from Asus.

  3. #3
    Guest

    Re: GeForce256 problem

    I have a 700mhz athelon gateway with geoforce card. I cannot play SOF DEMO. This is a new system. The game drags and lags and the sound is off. I really do not know what to do? I was going to by the full version, now I dont know. I emailed SOF, no replies.

    Originally posted by Wick:
    I can't seem to get OpenGL to work on my new card (Asus GeForce DDR 256 v6800 Delux). I have the latest 3.75 drivers, the card works in Direct3D.

    I try playing a game called Tribes and in the area where normally I would select OpenGL(Asus blah blah), my only option is OpenGL(Generic) which does not work. Also, I tried Soldier of Fortune and it gives me a windows error, page fault in 3dfxogl.dll (I used to have a 3dfx card)

    What could some possible problems be with my games not finding OpenGL?
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Guest

    Re: GeForce256 problem

    i have a 700 athlon with 256 mb of pc-133 ram. i got this ****ty Asus geforce256 card and on quake 3 the graphics are so poor. I have another comp that has an ati rage 128 and it runs beautifully. If anyone knows what the problem is and how to fix it please reply!

  5. #5
    Senior Member Frequent Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    France
    Posts
    880

    Re: GeForce256 problem

    You should all try the leaked detonator drivers from nVidia. You can find them at :
    http://www.reactorcritical.com/

    For Windows 2000, the current *leaked* version is 5.17.
    For Windows 95/98, it is 5.22.
    For Windows NT 4.0, it is 5.18.
    For Windows CE, ... Hey, just kidding !

    Please note that THESE DRIVERS ARE NOT OFFICIALLY SUPPORTED BY NVIDIA. So don't bother writing to nVidia if you have problems with them !

    BUT these drivers are constantly fixing problems (specially on Athlon-based systems).

    On the Reactor Critical web site, you will also find a discussion forum (similar to this one) about driver issues. You should post your problem there (or just read the previous posts as your question might already have an answer !).

    I hope this will help you.

    Best regards.

    Eric

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2004, 06:27 AM
  2. green lines with geforce256 - error
    By okapota in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-16-2001, 09:32 AM
  3. Geforce256 running faster than Geforce2 GTS?!
    By convict@large in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-22-2000, 10:11 AM
  4. Softimage XSi, GeForce256 and NT4
    By in forum OpenGL: User Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2000, 01:38 AM
  5. geforce256 asus and stereo on linux??
    By mrgrimm in forum OpenGL: Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2000, 06:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean