Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Texture Update

  1. #1
    Guest

    Texture Update

    Is it possible to only update the alpha of a rgba texture? so that the entire texture doesn't have to be uploaded.

    Would be great if i could just have a alphamap resulting in less data to operate on.

    What i'm doing is generation animated alpha maps so that the opacity of the textured quad varies over the screen and by time

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,978

    Re: Texture Update

    I suggest you put the alpha map and RGB map in different textures, and combine them using multi texturing and some fancy texture combine function.

Similar Threads

  1. texture 2d array update
    By Hetzer in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2013, 11:38 AM
  2. update texture problem
    By chenya in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-04-2008, 04:52 AM
  3. Update 3D Texture inside GPU
    By speed in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-12-2007, 07:26 AM
  4. Update Texture content
    By pkuloop in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2003, 07:06 PM
  5. Texture Update with multithreading
    By Arie in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-08-2001, 02:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean