Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to Make A Beam as the railgun in Quake3Arena

  1. #1
    Guest

    How to Make A Beam as the railgun in Quake3Arena

    Hi
    How can i make a Beam just like the railgun
    in Q3A with OpenGL
    with glBegin(GL_LINES) and glEnd()
    there is a limit to the linewidth
    and that is my problem
    can someone help me

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Shreveport, LA, USA
    Posts
    1,502

    Re: How to Make A Beam as the railgun in Quake3Arena

    The beam is not a line, it is a billboard constrained only about it's length.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    6

    Re: How to Make A Beam as the railgun in Quake3Arena

    Check where is the nearest object the beam cross-lines with and draw GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP (faced towards observer) up to this place.



    [This message has been edited by kyokpae (edited 11-25-2000).]

  4. #4
    Guest

    Re: How to Make A Beam as the railgun in Quake3Arena

    Okay Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Win32 + OpenGL flashes white beam ocassionally
    By chandler00x in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-06-2015, 08:38 PM
  2. visible 'beam' light
    By cherryyosh in forum OpenGL: GLSL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-28-2008, 01:32 PM
  3. Light Beam
    By MJW in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2000, 11:24 AM
  4. Beam trees
    By redknite in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-13-2000, 12:06 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2000, 09:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean