poor performance

Hi, I’m new to openGL but managed to get a barebones program up and running. All it does is draw a square and rotate it.

Everything seems to work fine until my mouse enters the window area, at which point I suffer a pretty bad performance hit. The square visibly slows in its rotation until the mouse again leaves the window area.

I have sibling and child clipping enabled (only thing I could think of). Since i copied most of the window and pixel format code from a tutorial (nehe’s) and code which does not suffer this problem when run, I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong! I can post up code if need be. Any suggestions appreciated.

Under Windows 2000, and maybe XP aswell but I’m not sure, I think there can be some problem with the shadow under the mouse cursor. If you have this shadow, try disable it and see if it helps. You can disable it in the mouse properties in the control panel.

Yes, I was running XP with mouse shadows, good call! Works great now, thank you!

Seems odd that I saw the performance hit in 1 version of the code and not the other, though…which suggests there is a less user-invasive way around the problem (aside from throttling Microsoft and getting Linux .

Anyone have any idea what that might be? Just curious.

Being a bit of a conspiracy theorist, I can almost be certain that this effect can’t be seen with DirectX

I don’t know what causes this, but it may be related to the pixel format you use in your OpenGL window. If you have the problem in some programs only, maybe there’s something special with the pixel format used by these programs.

Can be a driver issue also, have you tried update your drives?

grin Robbo I hear ya!