Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: please help me with making an ASE loader

  1. #1
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    china
    Posts
    60

    please help me with making an ASE loader

    I am trying to make a 3ds max ase file loader by compareing the actual model (in 3dsmax) with the exported file and guessing what is what.
    I made a simple box:

    *MESH_VERTEX 0 -12.8154 18.3203 0.0222
    *MESH_VERTEX 1 19.9108 18.3203 0.0222
    *MESH_VERTEX 2 -12.8154 49.0962 0.0222
    *MESH_VERTEX 3 19.9108 49.0962 0.0222
    *MESH_VERTEX 4 -12.8154 18.3203 -26.0744
    *MESH_VERTEX 5 19.9108 18.3203 -26.0744
    *MESH_VERTEX 6 -12.8154 49.0962 -26.0744
    *MESH_VERTEX 7 19.9108 49.0962 -26.0744

    *MESH_FACE 0: A: 2 B: 0 C: 3 AB: 1 BC: 0 CA: 1 *MESH_SMOOTHING 2 *MESH_MTLID 0

    I am guessing A,B,C are 3 vertice which build a triangle and the number behind them are the vertex number listed in MESH_VERTEX.
    and AB =1 means a visible segment, 0 invisible. (if i am wrong please tell me)but what are the rest of the line?

    But what are those global parameters that appear at the beginning of a GEOMOBJECT?
    *GEOMOBJECT {
    *NODE_NAME "Box01"
    *NODE_TM {
    *NODE_NAME "Box01"
    *INHERIT_POS 0 0 0
    *INHERIT_ROT 0 0 0
    *INHERIT_SCL 0 0 0
    *TM_ROW0 1.0000 0.0000 0.0000
    *TM_ROW1 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
    *TM_ROW2 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
    *TM_ROW3 3.5477 33.7082 0.0222
    *TM_POS 3.5477 33.7082 0.0222
    *TM_ROTAXIS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
    *TM_ROTANGLE 0.0000
    *TM_SCALE 1.0000 1.0000 1.0000
    *TM_SCALEAXIS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
    *TM_SCALEAXISANG 0.0000
    }

    I tried to render it in my code,its size and position look incorrect and strange. I also made a box with a modification(skew) + sphere, its appearance doesn't make any sense. Anyone be so kind as to help me out? I need to handle this or stuck here.
    many thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    196

    Re: please help me with making an ASE loader

    Look at: www.gametutorials.com there is some code for ASE loading.

  3. #3
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    china
    Posts
    60

    Re: please help me with making an ASE loader

    Thanks, i found what i wanted as you told, now it's time to understand it.

Similar Threads

  1. 3DS Loader
    By Michael S. in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 05:57 AM
  2. Need Help on 3DS Loader
    By sodx999 in forum OpenGL: macOS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2002, 07:38 PM
  3. 3DS loader
    By Lev in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-22-2001, 04:15 PM
  4. *.obj loader
    By in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2000, 11:44 PM
  5. BSP loader...?
    By CyBBe in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2000, 01:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean