Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: change scenes

  1. #1

    change scenes

    I need some idees how to change between scenes (using glut). I tryed to change the scene with glutDisplayFunc() wich doesnt work as I want to. And I tryed to make a switch statement within the idlefunc wich made it flicker.
    Any idees how to change scene in a good way like people use to do in demos?
    Thanks.
    regards Nergal

  2. #2
    Senior Member Frequent Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    586

    Re: change scenes

    Are you looking for a fade effect or some sort of transition where they are blended? Fade effect should be easy if using alpha channel... enable blend... draw black quad in front of everything as its alpha value increases from 0 to 1 over whatever time frame you want the fade to occur. The fade in would be the opposite. Not sure about the blending scenes effect... maybe accum buffer, or read pixels and then draw pixels if you can change alpha values.

    Otherwise, glutDisplayFunc is the correct way to switch between scenes/drawing functions.

    [This message has been edited by shinpaughp (edited 10-28-2003).]

Similar Threads

  1. Texture coordinates need to change when I change triangulation?
    By Grognard in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-05-2016, 02:35 AM
  2. Change scenes on the fly
    By pustofkj in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2013, 01:50 AM
  3. scenes
    By phil67rpg in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2004, 06:54 PM
  4. changing scenes
    By xbass in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-28-2004, 01:49 PM
  5. Demo scenes ...
    By GL_SH in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2002, 09:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean