rotation and translation

Hi all,

I’m really new to opengl and i really hope someone can enlighten me on the below:

1. What is a polygon mesh?
  2. how can i control the thickness of a polygon?
  3. I’m quite confused on the glTranslate. I read a book on glTranslate saying “it translates for x,y,z not to x,y,z” what exactly does this means?
  4. why is it that whenever i does a rotation on my polygon, the other end of the polygon runs out of the screen? (think if i understand translate, maybe i can figure this out? ).

Thanx in advance.

Joe

Joe,

1. What is a polygon mesh?

Exactly what is sounds like, a mesh of polygons. It can be a collection of individual triangles/quads/generic polygons or more commonly a collection of triangle strips. Think along the lines of a terrain in a game. Most would be implemented as meshes of triangles.

1. how can i control the thickness of a polygon?

You don’t. Polygons like triangles are infinitesimally thin, like in mathematics. Of course, you can build a thick polygon, like a cube, from several thin ones. There is one rendering mode (glBegin(GL_POLYGON)) that can build arbitrary polygons, but they must be convex, and it is better to use triangles anyway.

1. I’m quite confused on the glTranslate. I read a book on glTranslate saying “it translates for x,y,z not to x,y,z” what exactly does this means?

Dunno. glTranslate*(TYPE x, TYPE y, TYPE z) multiplies the current (modelview) matrix by a translation matrix. It has the same effect as moving an object on screen by x, y and z. For example, if you have an object at (0, 0, 0) and you call glTranslatef(2.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f); the object will then be at the position (2, 0, 0). If you follow that with a call to glTranslatef(0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f); the object will be at the point (2.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f). Is that what you mean? glTranslate() translates relative to the current position, not to an absolute position.