Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

  1. #1
    Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    40

    rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    Hi folks,

    i tried to get an opengl rendered scene onto a direct draw surface. The only problem i have is that each rendered scene refreshes the window - which overdraws the directdraw drawn part of the scene.
    Is there a way (if yes, how) to set up opengl to render somewhere in memory without updating the window?

    Please give me some ideas.
    Thank's in advance...
    Hail to
    ...the fine folks at SGI.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Eastern USA
    Posts
    218

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    OpenGL+DirectDraw ~= Acid+Water in confined space

  3. #3
    Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    40

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    Wow,
    a forum full of gurus!
    I started 4 threads, basicly all the same question - how to get the f u c k i n g scene onto a directdraw surface. But not one constructive idea!

    Thank's for nothing!

    WTF happened to the fine folks at SGI?
    Hail to
    ...the fine folks at SGI.

  4. #4
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    1,753

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    Omaha is right, you REALLY don't wanna be trying to mix OpenGL and DirectDraw in the same device context. No amount of swearing on your part is going to change the fact that they don't work well together.

    Some options:
    1) Instead of using DirectDraw surfaces, use textured quads.
    2) Instead of rendering your 3d stuff with OpenGL, use Direct3D.
    Deiussum
    Software Engineer and OpenGL enthusiast

  5. #5
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru zed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2,466

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    check the faq (www.opengl.org right side of page)

  6. #6
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Gastonia, NC, USA
    Posts
    2,068

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    It is not good to mix the opengl with directx. If you want to use direct x also render with it....

    It like good and evil, they just done mix well....


    Originally posted by XFire:
    Hi folks,

    i tried to get an opengl rendered scene onto a direct draw surface. The only problem i have is that each rendered scene refreshes the window - which overdraws the directdraw drawn part of the scene.
    Is there a way (if yes, how) to set up opengl to render somewhere in memory without updating the window?

    Please give me some ideas.
    Thank's in advance...


    [This message has been edited by nexusone (edited 04-08-2002).]

  7. #7
    V-man
    Guest

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    Originally posted by XFire:
    Hi folks,

    i tried to get an opengl rendered scene onto a direct draw surface. The only problem i have is that each rendered scene refreshes the window - which overdraws the directdraw drawn part of the scene.
    Is there a way (if yes, how) to set up opengl to render somewhere in memory without updating the window?

    Please give me some ideas.Thank's in advance...
    Just render to the back buffer and then you can use glReadPixels to get the pixels back. That is if you have a back buffer.... what's DirectDraw for? I suggest you listen to the others.

    This method is not ideal actually. There is render to bitmap method (never tried it but MSDN had a demo) and then there are p-buffers (a bit complicated)

    V-man

  8. #8
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    154

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    Asking a <dirty>X question in an OpenGL forum is like walking to an Porsche dealer and want them to fix your Volvo...



    And as the others already pointed out <dirty>Draw/3D and OpenGL dont like each other.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    352

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    I suggest that you ask this question 2 or 3 more times, because we opengl boys aren't very clever and it takes us long to understand deep problems like yours.

  10. #10
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60

    Re: rendering somewhere into memory - not updating the window....

    hmm you kann render to offsreenbuffer (pbuffer). Donn't if it help with you problem.

Similar Threads

  1. Window not updating unless dragged (GLUT/C++)
    By toads_tf in forum OpenGL: Windows
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-10-2016, 07:13 AM
  2. updating window from another file
    By jayaprakash in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-17-2009, 11:16 AM
  3. updating window
    By jayaprakash in forum OpenGL: Windows
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2009, 05:37 AM
  4. updating window
    By jayaprakash in forum OpenGL: Linux
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2009, 05:36 AM
  5. Window Updating
    By Condor in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2002, 07:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean