Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: how to open auxillary window in opengl

  1. #1
    Guest

    how to open auxillary window in opengl

    I'm trying to learn opengl

    I developed a simple 3D maze. The problem is, once i enter into the maze i don't know where iam. I haven't used lighting or texturing(i don't know that as well), so it just the color of the wall that fills the window. I want to open an auxillary window and that should be in 2D(top view of the maze), with my location in maze. I don't want the aux. window to be inactive(no controls). It should tell where i am, that's all.

    can anybody tell me how to achieve this?

    backup infos:
    -using VC++ platform.
    -using opengl codes fully.
    -using glutcreatewindow to create main window


    simon

  2. #2
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    18

    Re: how to open auxillary window in opengl

    The problem in creating a window with GLUT is that you don't know the underlying code for creating a window. Using GLUT is mainly part of a testfase for quickly creating a testwindow for your 3D scene. I would advise you to learn some basic windows programming (not so tough) skills like how to create a window from scratch. That way you can create any window you like and even MDI windows etc.!

    If you don't know where to start, mail me and i will help you.

    Ciao,

    Niftybitz.

  3. #3
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Gastonia, NC, USA
    Posts
    2,068

    Re: how to open auxillary window in opengl

    You could put a small map at the bottom of your current screen or make a overlay of the map on the screen, like used in quake style games.

    Originally posted by simonH:
    I'm trying to learn opengl

    I developed a simple 3D maze. The problem is, once i enter into the maze i don't know where iam. I haven't used lighting or texturing(i don't know that as well), so it just the color of the wall that fills the window. I want to open an auxillary window and that should be in 2D(top view of the maze), with my location in maze. I don't want the aux. window to be inactive(no controls). It should tell where i am, that's all.

    can anybody tell me how to achieve this?

    backup infos:
    -using VC++ platform.
    -using opengl codes fully.
    -using glutcreatewindow to create main window


    simon

Similar Threads

  1. freeGLUT doesn't open OpenGL Window
    By Helegurbann in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-30-2011, 03:55 PM
  2. Can we open a console window by opengl?
    By in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2004, 07:28 AM
  3. how to open an openGL window in MDI style?
    By liro_e in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2002, 05:59 AM
  4. open another window
    By in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2001, 06:37 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-19-2001, 09:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean