Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: not using hardware acceleration for opengl?

  1. #1
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    94

    not using hardware acceleration for opengl?

    I have a GEFORCE 256 card and win2000. I downloaded the latest driver and installed it from nvidia.

    But, I do this:

    char *card = (char*)glGetString(GL_VENDOR);
    printf("3D Card Vendor: [%s]\n",card);
    card = (char*)glGetString(GL_RENDERER);
    printf("3D Card : [%s]\n",card);

    and it says "Microsoft Corporation" and "GDI Generic".

    But under hardware devices in windows it says it is using the nvidia driver.

    I tried setting my desktop to a low resolution, but that didn't help.

    in the registry under WindowsNT\currentversion\opengldrivers, its default says nothing. Also it has a folder for RIVATNT (That seems strange)

    The dxdiag shows my NVidia 256.

    Does my bit depth matter?

    Could somebody please help me? Thanks!
    P4 2Ghz, GEFORCE4, 512 Meg RAM, WIN2000, VStudio 6.0

  2. #2
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    446

    Re: not using hardware acceleration for opengl?

    Are you checking the Vendor and Renderer values after creating the GL rendering context?

  3. #3
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    94

    Re: not using hardware acceleration for opengl?

    Yes.
    P4 2Ghz, GEFORCE4, 512 Meg RAM, WIN2000, VStudio 6.0

  4. #4
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    59

    Re: not using hardware acceleration for opengl?

    Do you have a tool that can enumerate the available pixelformats? This may help in determining why the pixel format that you are choosing is not hardware accelerated.

    Pat

  5. #5
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Shreveport, LA, USA
    Posts
    1,502

    Re: not using hardware acceleration for opengl?

    Don't worry about the RIVATNT key in the registry, that is normal. I see it in the registry of every computer that has a TNT or Geforce, and I assume it has to do with the unified nature of the NVIDIA drivers and/or legacy issues.

  6. #6
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    94

    Re: not using hardware acceleration for opengl?

    Do you know where I could get that tool?

    Is there a standard pixel format that I should set my program to when initializing, that should 100% use hardware acceleration on a GEFORCE256?
    P4 2Ghz, GEFORCE4, 512 Meg RAM, WIN2000, VStudio 6.0

  7. #7
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    94

    Re: not using hardware acceleration for opengl?

    I got it working now! I had to change my desktop to 32 bit color. I guess the card doesn't support anything lower than that?

    Thanks for the help guys.
    P4 2Ghz, GEFORCE4, 512 Meg RAM, WIN2000, VStudio 6.0

Similar Threads

  1. Opengl & Hardware Acceleration
    By haodongking in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 09:57 AM
  2. Hardware acceleration: opengl es 1.1 vs 2.0
    By 4ntoine in forum OpenGL: User Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-15-2010, 03:13 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2004, 08:02 AM
  4. How to get OpenGL hardware acceleration?
    By xunhuan in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-07-2003, 10:13 AM
  5. OpenGL+hardware acceleration
    By Maciek Sawitus in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-03-2000, 12:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean