Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how to include a model?

  1. #1
    Guest

    how to include a model?

    Can you tell me how to include a 3D model which I construct it by using "3D studio max" into Open GL??

  2. #2
    Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Brest
    Posts
    39

    Re: how to include a model?

    You can't include directly a 3DSMAX file in a opg project. You must convert your model in a standart model same 'wave object' (with 3Dexploration for example).

    Now you are a wave object....... ( .obj).

    Exist on web differents librairies to load this format same 'glm'.

    I know, it is more fast to import 3DSM but the program will run lower !!!!!!
    For example, a program at 100 frames/s -> 5 frames/s with imports 3DS

    For games, i'm sure it is a bad solution to use that !!!!!! because i'have tryed and performances are too bad!

    Other solution, the software 3Dexploration permit to convert 3DSM files to opg code.

    In opengl, if you want something FAST, you musn't use imports.....make only one class......using Glut it is not compatible with performances.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    147

    Re: how to include a model?

    Bahamut, why shouldn't we use 3ds file format? This is not slower than other else ... As you load models BEFORE drawing them on the screen, not on the fly ... I use 3DS file, and I never got slowdown in my program. May be the chunk process is a slow method to load vertices, but your models are "pre-loaded" ... no matter for the framerate!

    Arath

  4. #4
    Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Brest
    Posts
    39

    Re: how to include a model?

    Well, I'm loading models one time in a list at the beginning.
    For speed, if you are a medium computer as me, you will can notice the difference.

    If you're using directly 3dsMax models without problems, it is cool.

    Tell me, where can I find free librairies for loading 3DS format ? I've already tryed to find that on the web.....without result

    Bahamut

  5. #5
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    52

    Re: how to include a model?

    Alternatively, you could go to www.wotsit.org, read up on the various filetypes, and make your own geometry importer. I made my first .obj file importer this way. I recommend doing this instead of the usual "get 3d Exploration" advice, because once you have written your import code, you can always reuse the code again. Also, it allows you to dynamically import your geometry rather than having to compiling it in, as is the case with the 3d Exploration path.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    München, Germany
    Posts
    4

    Re: how to include a model?

    If you are just interested in 3D-files try: http://astronomy.swin.edu.au/pbourke/3dformats/
    There´you´ll find very good descriptions of almost all 3D-files.
    Xroads42

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2014, 08:35 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2012, 11:49 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 11:52 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-30-2005, 03:12 AM
  5. how to do model clothing & multi-model texturing.
    By Deepak Roy Chittajallu in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-19-2004, 07:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean