Particle system?

How do I do a particle system, I’m using GLUT and I’ve found one example but it ain’t GLUT and I can’t get it to work.

Anyone?

Thanx…

you can’t get it compiled, or what?
if it crashes, try to get another example on the net. probably you downloaded a not-so-much-tested application.
nehe has a particle demo.

or else you can write a particle system from scratch, and this would be another story…

what do you need?

Dolo//\ightY

Here’s how I would go about writing a particle system (don’t expect much I’m a beginner too and just wrote my first PS two weeks ago) I figure a particle system can have any number of constant variables (properties) as long as one is randomly generated.

First you need a structure that holds all of the individual particle’s properties. A bit like this for a VERY primative system :

[i]#define MAX_PARTICLES 1000
int loop; // For loops!

struct _particle
{
GLfloat x, y, z; // Position
GLfloat xv, yv, zv; // Velocity (Speed)
GLfloat life; // How long it stays
} particle[MAX_PARTICLES]; [/i]

Then within a function that is only called once (such as an GL init function) roll thru your particles and assign them some variables with a for loop :

for(loop=0; loop<MAX_PARTICLES; loop++)
{
define y value
give random yv value
give x random value
give life random value
}

then in your main loop put something like this

for(loop=0; loop< MAX_PARTICLES; loop++)
{
add yv to y
subtract life from alpha value

draw particle

}

i had to do this in a hurry at the end =(

but you can contact me if you’d like and ill try my best to help out

satapher@quake3mods.net

or ICQ : 5181454

-Satapher