new to programming

hi, im pretty new to any programming besides web programming. I know very little c++ im about 4 chapters into my book and i was wondering if i would be able to learn opengl without really knowing any c++?

no, read the whole c++ book and make a few simple c++ consol programs, then go to nehe.gamedev.net and start at the first tutorial.

I don’t really agree on this.
It is something really subjective. Maybe someone will feel better by learning while “on the road”.

To tell the truth, a lot can be done with using basic C/C++, basic GL and a bunch of time to spend.

Of curse, having C skill helps, but usually not so much.

My personal opinion is that you need just a basic C knowledge to start using GL.

One you got data types, ifs, pointers (a bit, some people finds 'em difficult), cicles, something about I/O and you practiced it a bit you may start GL and learn while using it, if you are good at thinking… else read teh book, prac, prac, prac, read the tuts.

PS: Always leave your book at hand however…

EDIT: forgot you have to know a bit of dynamic memory allocation and arrays.

[This message has been edited by Obli (edited 05-09-2003).]

I too, am new to coding, and have grasped the first few chapters of my C++ book (I can code a math quiz) and wish to know when I should try and learn openGL or directX.

No, do NOT learn all of C++ before starting OpenGL. I’ve been writing production C++ code for five years and there are parts of that gigantic language I haven’t used yet.

Learn the basics - classes, virtual functions, constructors, destructors. Pick up the /C++ FAQs/ book if you can…just about any question you might have about the language is in there.

Good advice on the NeHe tutorials, though.