Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: why draw a gl_quads cost 80ms to execute?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Shenzhen,China
    Posts
    5

    why draw a gl_quads cost 80ms to execute?

    Enviorment:Pentium2.0G, 256M RAM, visual studio 2003, OS-windows2003.

    I open a 1024*512 window and attach a Opengl rendering context on it. set the glortho range to (-100,100,-50,50,-100,100)

    but when I try to draw a GL_QUAD, it cost 80ms to implement, is it normal?
    *************************************************
    #define Quad_Width 20.0f
    glBegin(GL_QUADS);

    glVertex2f(-Quad_Width, Quad_Width);
    glVertex2f(Quad_Width, Quad_Width);
    glVertex2f( Quad_Width, -Quad_Width);
    glVertex2f(-Quad_Width, -Quad_Width);

    glEnd();
    *************************************************

    Hope experts help me.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    314

    Re: why draw a gl_quads cost 80ms to execute?

    Hmmm. Are you sure you have the OpenGL driver for the card installed?

    Because it sounds like you're getting software emulation here.

    Or perhaps you're not telling us everything you're doing: is it a textured quad, if so how large is the texture and are you using mipmaps? Are you using a fragment shader?

    I can tell you that it's not the result of vsyncing: 80ms would mean 12.5 Hertz.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Shenzhen,China
    Posts
    5

    Re: why draw a gl_quads cost 80ms to execute?

    Thanks for your always help.

    I have not implement Texture mapping , just draw a GL_QUAD, about 512*512 size.

    I dont know whether the OpenGL driver have been installed for the display card, how to check it , my card is board-integrated intel 82845.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    314

    Re: why draw a gl_quads cost 80ms to execute?

    my card is board-integrated intel 82845.
    Oh, dear.

    I don't know the capabilities of that chipset, but usually board-integrated means that the CPU does a lot of the work.

    Anyway, if you have the CD that came with the motherboard, you could check if there's a driver on it, or you could go to Intel's site and see if you can download the latest driver there (that's probably the safest approach).
    Then install it, and you'll be sure you do have a proper driver. It might not make a difference though - if it simply isn't hardware accelerated.

  5. #5
    Guest

    Re: why draw a gl_quads cost 80ms to execute?

    Why are you using a Windows 2003 Server with *only* 256Mo as an OpenGL production unit ???
    I guess that you don't have optimized drivers. Try to run your executable on a Windows XP and see the difference...

Similar Threads

  1. Do not deprecate GL_QUADS please
    By l_belev in forum OpenGL: General
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 09-03-2011, 02:20 AM
  2. GL_QUADS not how they should be
    By PSMMet in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 02:38 AM
  3. Problem with GL_QUADS
    By jacksmash in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 02:45 PM
  4. GL_QUADS Question
    By Stack Overflow in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2002, 01:22 PM
  5. speed of GL_QUADS
    By rgreene in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2002, 01:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean