Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Texture size issue?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    macedon, ny
    Posts
    288

    Texture size issue?

    Ok please keep in mind I am aiming to run this on video cards with 32 megs of ram or better. With that said, I am creating an exporter for maps. I want to texture the map obviously. I can do this one of two ways, either with alot of smaller 256*256 textures, or with one LARGE 2048*2048. I have found draw backs to both of these methods. For instance, I want to compile all the map data into ONE compiled interleaved vertex array. That would make the map data very very fast. But with 256*256 textures I would have to break that data up into areas and compile the map by "zones" for instance. The larger texture will work fine for the entire map being compiled as one, but that one texture will take up 16 megs of video memory. But that is the only map I will need exept for character maps. I guess my question is this. I know on older cards textures over 256 are compressed down to 256, but I am not aiming for old cards. Will using that large of texture cause issues, being that it is TOO big for the internalworkings, or is useing smaller ones, and jockying them around in memory better??
    Sorry to confuse you, and thanks again in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Belmont, CA, USA
    Posts
    216

    Re: Texture size issue?

    You said that one big texture works and you don't care about older video cards. Use one big texture ...or is there other criteria that you didn't mention?

  3. #3
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    23

    Re: Texture size issue?

    Maybe you want to look into texture paging? I am not too familiar with that topic but you may want to do a search on the web.

  4. #4
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Wa, USA
    Posts
    54

    Re: Texture size issue?

    What type of image format are you using? you may want to look into some different types. OR compression methods.
    ==============

  5. #5
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    macedon, ny
    Posts
    288

    Re: Texture size issue?

    First, what is texture paging? and second, if i use one large texture, will that cause issues with mipmaps, and LOD settings, like if the polys right in front of me versus 30 units away use the same texture, will that cause problems with the internal mip mapping or LOD.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    23

    Re: Texture size issue?


  7. #7
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    macedon, ny
    Posts
    288

    Re: Texture size issue?

    Thanks for the sight, but that is one confusing idea. I think that I will simply use 2048*2048 at 24bit for my maps. That should keep that texture to 12megs, 8megs if i use 16bit instead. But here is a good question. Dont some cards internaly turn the textures into 32bit anyway? So by doing this, wouldnt my whole rant about saving space, and CPU cycles with 24bit be waisted???

  8. #8
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,978

    Re: Texture size issue?

    If the internal format of your texture has 24 bit color and no alpha, some implementations may pad each pixel with an extra 8 bits for more effective addressing. For 16 bit internal formats, you have your texels on 2 byte boundary, and padding isn't necessary.

    If you really want to save memory, you should use texture compression.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    442

    Re: Texture size issue?

    I was under the impression that some implementations will pad out to RGBA regardless (with A = 1.0) - so you should be prepared for 4*width*height - (I'm I right here?)..

  10. #10
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    macedon, ny
    Posts
    288

    Re: Texture size issue?

    That seems realy stupid, to internaly pad everything upto 32bit. Talk about waisting space for speed. Is there anyway around this??? I just see that as very stupid. So I should turn all my textures into 32bit ones. Let me ask this... Does that make things faster at all?? Or just easier for the Video card. Sorry to get off on a rant, but that is really really stuppid. I mean why even have 24bit, and 16bit, formats anymore if they will never even be used??

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2014, 12:51 PM
  2. Mapping from rednerbuffer size to texture size for glow effect
    By 2Wheels in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2013, 04:16 PM
  3. Fullscreen with 120 DPI Font Size Issue...
    By AkuPython in forum OpenGL: User Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-03-2008, 04:29 PM
  4. ASE format texture vertices and faces/Texture Size
    By F_Kal in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2004, 10:15 AM
  5. Texture Size and pict size
    By morzech in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-27-2002, 12:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean