Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: DirectX's goal: Make Programmers pull their hair out

Halcyon

DirectX's goal: Make Programmers pull their hair out

Ok ok....i DID make a post about learning both OpenGL and DirectX and how it's really good to know them both. I still stand by what i said....but i started learning DirectX today...and let me tell you...I don't think i've seem more enumerated variables and constants in my entire life. THERE ARE SOOO MANY. It just seems clumsy and it really isn't as welcoming to beginners are OpenGL. I think i'm going to wait until i finish learning OpenGL and then start up on D3D...but by then it'll probably be a WHOLE different syntax and all. Grrr....

Sorry...there really is not point to this post other than to vent my frustration. If anyone else would like to vent their anger please feel free!

GL RULES!

- Halcyon

Junior Member Newbie

Re: DirectX's goal: Make Programmers pull their hair out

Yeah, I prefer OpenGL to DirectX I started making a DirectX 9 engine the other day - its _alot_ more code to do simple things like displaying a triangle than in GL.

Senior Member Regular Contributor

i had really bad experiences with earlier versions of directx as well. what's amazed me is how much direct3d has gravitated towards opengl's way of doing things. they backed away from some of the COM nonsense and made initialization a lot easier (especially with 8.0).

still though, i don't think you can write the newer versions of directx off the way you could the older versions (prior to 7.0, say). things have gotten a lot easier, and it seems to me that for the most part it's roughly comparable to opengl now in terms of learning difficulty. further, some stuff is a lot easier (one example: standardized vertex buffers in direct3d versus the VAR/VAO extension mess in opengl). the advanced board recently had a good discussion going on about this issue.