Starting a school-project..

I am going to start with a project in school where I program 3D-engine but I first want to know a couple of things…

1. What is the difference between 3D-engine programming and 3D-game programming??

2. What do I need to know to be able to program 3D-engines?? c++, opengl(I guess ) etc.

3. How long does it take to learn simple and advanced 3D-programming?, I have almost 2 years from now on, is that enough?

4. do I have to install openGL someway to use it when I program 3D-engines?

5. wich way is the best and maybe the fastest to learn? books, tutorials etc…

6. Is there any openGL chat channals or communities somewhere? like irc, web etc…

7. Is it a good ide to do a 3D-engine? .

I would be pleased if someone could answer to my simple and wierd questions…

i’m just a graphics programming beginner, but i’ll answer your questions as best i can.

“1. What is the difference between 3D-engine programming and 3D-game programming??”

a 3d engine is just one (although arguably the most important) component of a modern 3d game. other components include physics, sound & music, networking (for multiplayer games), and AI.

“2. What do I need to know to be able to program 3D-engines?? c++, opengl(I guess) etc.”

you need to be a very competent programmer. the most common language used for 3d engine development is c/c++, for the obvious reason of speed. so having a good understanding of c/c++ is obviously beneficial.

then you need to know one of the two APIs currently used for 3d engine development: direct3d and opengl.

beyond that, you need to understand the theory behind computer graphics, including how to implement these ideas on modern graphics accelerators using one of the APIs mentioned above, and the abilities/limitations of the various hardware accelerators.

“3. How long does it take to learn simple and advanced 3D-programming?, I have almost 2 years from now on, is that enough?”