Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How Can I Get to Know Wheather my app use HW accelerate or not?

  1. #1
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Kaifeng,He'nan,PRC
    Posts
    69

    How Can I Get to Know Wheather my app use HW accelerate or not?

    thank for your guide and sorry for my poor english.

    I do not know if my app use hardware accelerating correctly,Is there any flag to detect?
    ========================
    As an old Chinese saying:One Live a Short while Die a Long...
    If I am useful to this world,I am reasonable to myself.
    =========================

  2. #2
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    370

    Re: How Can I Get to Know Wheather my app use HW accelerate or not?

    You can get the renderer name, if it is MS, then it is software mode...

    some code:
    hdc = wglGetCurrentDC();
    hglrc = wglCreateContext (hdc); // create a rendering context
    wglMakeCurrent (hdc, hglrc); // make it the calling thread's current rendering context
    printf("Vendor=%s\n",glGetString(GL_VENDOR));
    printf("Renderer=%s\n",glGetString(GL_RENDERER));
    printf("Version=%s\n",glGetString(GL_VERSION));
    printf("GL_extensions=%s\n",glGetString(GL_EXTENSI ONS));
    wglDeleteContext(hglrc);
    Hope that helps a bit.

  3. #3
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Kaifeng,He'nan,PRC
    Posts
    69

    Re: How Can I Get to Know Wheather my app use HW accelerate or not?

    thank you so much,why can't i find the way by self?this is a question.

    thank your help again.
    ========================
    As an old Chinese saying:One Live a Short while Die a Long...
    If I am useful to this world,I am reasonable to myself.
    =========================

  4. #4
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    B.C., Canada
    Posts
    367

    Re: How Can I Get to Know Wheather my app use HW accelerate or not?

    In the flags section of the Pixel Format Descriptor given by windows, there are two flags that you can use to find out if it is accelerated. If neither of PFD_GENERIC_ACCELERATED or PFD_GENERIC_FORMAT is set, then it is fully accelerated (ICD). If only GPD_GENERIC_ACCELERATED is set, then it is partialy accelerated (MCD). Anything else, and it is software.

    j

Similar Threads

  1. accelerate in view direction
    By Symbroson in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2018, 08:40 AM
  2. How can we accelerate the vgDrawPath
    By srastogi in forum OpenVG
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2012, 02:59 PM
  3. Using the GPU to accelerate high quality 2D AA
    By ljbade in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 09:14 PM
  4. any trick to accelerate vecter normalize?
    By wycwang in forum OpenGL ES
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-18-2007, 09:12 PM
  5. Does GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays accelerate your program?
    By wilburn in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-02-2006, 06:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean