Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: GLUT

  1. #1
    Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    41

    GLUT

    Does professional game engine uses GLUT for windowing purposes?
    Is it feasible to use GLUT in a heavy game engine?
    I am trying to develope a good game engine for my graduation project. Now I'm gathering information....Any kind of help and suggestion is appreciated.

    If you want to mail me to tell something in detail...please fill free to mail me...at:
    mishuk@agni1.net
    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    224

    Re: GLUT

    I see only one reason why professional games don't use glut, that is the GNU license, which says you have to let others feel free to change, modify, use your own code (unless you publish sources at all of course )...

    Besides it seems quite good portable stuff, similar to what SDL offers, but glut is graphic only, no music etc.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    128

    Re: GLUT

    Generally no ... GLUT is often used for testing purposes as it is easy to get quick prototypes up and running and makes it easy to test out ideas. Same goes for the other support packages out there too.

    In the end you would need to write the windowing code specific for the target system. e.g. glx for Unix etc ...

    You shold be able to create the core engine in system portable code, and then provide a windowing and device access layer which calls system specific functions ..

    Sort of really depends if you are targeting one system or not ... e.g. Windows only, or do you want to go for Windows, Unix, Mac, PS2, GameCube and so on ...

    Rob.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    east norwalk, ct, usa
    Posts
    184

    Re: GLUT

    > Does professional game engine uses GLUT
    > for windowing purposes?

    Loki, of course, used SDL.

    Here's the book to get you started: http://www.overcode.net/~overcode/writing/plg/

Similar Threads

  1. glut.h not found after installing glut
    By SagoO in forum OpenGL: General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-13-2010, 08:04 PM
  2. Timers - time.h or GLUT timerfunc? GLUT or SDL..?
    By omdown in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 12:27 PM
  3. Using GLUT meshes without GLUT window
    By Dwight in forum OpenGL: General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-25-2008, 03:06 AM
  4. glut teapot do i need to initialize glut?
    By bansheeogl in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-01-2005, 04:21 AM
  5. Subwindows in GLUT - New section available in the GLUT tutorial
    By Antonio in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-13-2000, 10:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean