Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: different results on different cards...

  1. #1
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    San Diego Ca, USA
    Posts
    50

    different results on different cards...

    I wrote a little win32 OGL demo which has 4 lights rotating around a textured polygon and while it seems to work perfect on tnt/tnt2 chipsets
    the texture on the polygon does not show up and the polygon itself is unlit
    on different cards (G400 and GeForce??)

    has anybody else experienced the same problems in general - different behaviours on different cards

  2. #2
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    milano, italy
    Posts
    282

    Re: different results on different cards...

    yes, between a tnt and g200.
    there was some textured quads used to render symbols for a hud system.

    the code was developed on my tnt and it worked.

    the same code, executed and even compiled, on the g200 at work made the textured quads always apper black.

    i resolved by invoking glTexEnv(...,GL_MODULATE) before the hud showing, then it worked, and it still works on the g200, tnt and geforce i tested on.

    Dolo/\/\ightY
    Dolo/\/\ightY

  3. #3
    Member Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    San Diego Ca, USA
    Posts
    50

    Re: different results on different cards...

    I'm using GL_MODULATE in my glTexEnv() call
    as well...

    jeez this is beginning to frustrate me -
    if something works perfect on your development machine how the hell do you know its going to work on other peoples machines..? Is this a driver issue ?

    I guess thats what pre-release to the alpha of the upcoming beta release is for eh..



    [This message has been edited by mike j (edited 02-24-2000).]

  4. #4
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    milano, italy
    Posts
    282

    Re: different results on different cards...

    opengl specs states that opengl should be deterministic.
    if the problem will show to be opengl, then you must put the blame on the driver.

    already checked for extensions? lighting? colors?

    if you're loading that model, maybe the problem is not the card itself.
    check the loading code... yes, and try to visualize normals.

    ...you know, most of the time bugs are self inflicted, and platforms help bugs to hide...
    ...words of infinite wisdom, today, eh?

    Dolo/\/\ightY
    Dolo/\/\ightY

Similar Threads

  1. Different results CPU & GPU
    By Raziza in forum OpenCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-08-2015, 01:38 AM
  2. Inconsistent Results
    By mflamer in forum OpenCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 11:58 PM
  3. to have better results
    By romb in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2004, 02:59 AM
  4. What your results?
    By C++ in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2003, 05:36 PM
  5. Same code. Different results in Win 9x and NT
    By in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-25-2002, 10:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean