Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: V-Sync in OpenGl??

  1. #1
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    235

    V-Sync in OpenGl??

    How to activate the V-Sync in OpenGl?
    I thaugt it is enough to activate the V-Sync
    in the Driver of the Graphics Card,but it doesnīt seem so,īcause in my Opengl-3D-Engine
    (running with about 100FPS,so that low speed cannot be the cause) the are a lot of jaggies if turn arround or switch on\off fog or a light in short time intervals.It looks like if you didnīt do Retrace syncing in old mode 13h Programs.

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru Humus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,342

    Re: V-Sync in OpenGl??

    Use this extension if available:
    wglSwapControl = (PFNWGLEXTSWAPCONTROLPROC) wglGetProcAddress("wglSwapIntervalEXT");

    and this to set the retrace to 1, 0 disables vsync.

    wglSwapControl(1);

  3. #3
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    235

    Re: V-Sync in OpenGl??

    Thanks!
    Seems like a working solution, but isnīt there another?
    I cannot imagine that one has to use a extension to do retrace thinking.
    Cause how would you do R-Syncing if you were in OpenGl-Software-Rendering?
    Or are not all extensions refering to Hardware-Accelerators?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    235

    Re: V-Sync in OpenGl??

    Sorry,I made a few mistakes!
    With Hardware-Accelerators I wanted to say Hardware-Accelerator-Capabilities.

  5. #5
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru Humus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,342

    Re: V-Sync in OpenGl??

    I don't know, but this is the only solution i know.
    I guess the reason this can be reached only through extensions is that back then when the original OpenGL spec was settled there were no reason to NOT use vsync, so they just assumed that the SwapBuffers() function would do this automaticly. However, now with all this benchmarking hype there had to be a way to control vsyncing, so they introduced it through an extension.
    However, this is nothing i know anything about, it's just a guess, so it is probably completely wrong ...

  6. #6
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    235

    Re: V-Sync in OpenGl??

    Thanks!
    And another suggestion:
    Activating\Deactivating of V-Sync in the Video-Card Drivers is a new thing(possible since ca. 2 years),so no control over v-sync is given in the original OpenGl-Implemenation.

  7. #7
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru Humus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,342

    Re: V-Sync in OpenGl??

    Well, that about the same thing as i said ...

  8. #8
    Senior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    235

    Re: V-Sync in OpenGl??

    Sorry for that!
    p.s:I shouldnīt post so late at night(donīt have US-Time).

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible to use sync objects in openGL 2.1?
    By jianliang79 in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2010, 08:24 PM
  2. OpenGL/GDI sync
    By Quirk in forum OpenGL: Windows
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 10:36 AM
  3. detonator 40.42 opengl and active sync
    By in forum OpenGL: User Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-15-2002, 02:27 PM
  4. Vertical Sync not work in OpenGL
    By OCBkill in forum OpenGL: User Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-18-2001, 07:55 PM
  5. How to V-Sync with OpenGL ???
    By Igor in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-25-2000, 02:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean