What is "Access Violation"?

When I run my OpenGL application I sometimes get this writtin 8000 times in the debug window:

First-chance exception in Game.exe (GDI32.DLL): 0xC0000005: Access Violation.

What does it mean?
How do I fix this error?

Thanks.

It means you’re probably passing some bad pointer value to some GDI function… somewhere in GDI32.DLL it is accessing bad memory.

You fix it by not doing that!

yup…some pointer must be NULL

Nope. This is actually a bug in the GDI in Win9x. You can safely ignore it (even Quake3 produces those same access violations when run in the debugger).

[This message has been edited by DFrey (edited 04-12-2001).]

Heh.

I’m so glad I’m not a Winblows programmer…

If it is so safe to ignore it why is it making the framerate drop of about 40 fps?

Originally posted by Gabriel:
If it is so safe to ignore it why is it making the framerate drop of about 40 fps?

On what do you base this assumption??

I’ve never gotten that error…is it nVidia hardware spesific or something? (I run a radeon 64mb vivo + thunderbird + win98)

I get it sporadically. GF2 MX board. The debugger doesn’t seem to choke, so I dunno where it’s coming from. I’ve ignored it and it doesn’t seem to affect performance (aside from all the damned messages spitting out.)

No, it’s not NVidia specific. I’ve seen it many times with the MS and SGI software renderers. It’s a GDI bug and appears pretty much at random. (To the point where it sometimes happens and sometimes doesn’t, even with the same build.

Gabriel - I think the performance hit you’re seeing is caused by MSVC’s handling and reporting of the exception, not the exception itself. I’ve never been affected by it when running an app standalone.

You are right Mike,
Thank you very much.

That was bugging me for months and I must admit that I never took the time to compare speed of an application from in and out of msvc debuger…

Sorry every body…