EGL,OpenvG and OpenGL ES

Hi

I am new to OpenVG…
I have some basic questions

1.If I am not wrong…
OpenGL is a set of API s for 3d graphical programming.
It needs glut and glu for creating windows and other UI related stuff…
which runs on both linux and Windows…

Similarly,
OpenVG is a set of API s for 2d graphical programming
What does it need for creating windows and other UI related ones…
(which runs on both linux and windows)

2.What is EGL?(Is it connected to OpenGL ES)
Cant openVG function without EGL?

Creating windows is in the domain of the platform window system.
To create an OpenGL context and renderable window surfaces you need a platform specific API like WGL, GLX, or EGL.

GLUT is just an abstraction layer on top of these that hides the platform specific parts. You don’t need GLUT, it’s just convenient to use.

GLU is not platform specific at all and has nothing to do with creating windows or UI. It provides helper functions for OpenGL and is entirely layered on top of it.

Similarly,
OpenVG is a set of API s for 2d graphical programming
What does it need for creating windows and other UI related ones…
(which runs on both linux and windows)

2.What is EGL?(Is it connected to OpenGL ES)
Cant openVG function without EGL?

EGL is the Khronos native platform graphics interface. It is the connection between the native window system and graphics APIs such as OpenGL ES, OpenVG, and potentially other Khronos APIs.

A typical OpenVG implementation would be accompanied by an EGL implementation to perform the initialization tasks. This is not a requirement, though, and the OpenVG implementer could choose any method they like.

Hi All,

The title of this thread exactly matches what I had in mind; so instead of starting another thread I thought I’d reuse this one :slight_smile:

Does anybody know of any OpenVG implementation that uses OpenGL-ES as well as EGL for rendering?

I’d be glad to share what I intend to do with it in case anybody wants to know :smiley: