Help! just starting out

im just a newbie in opengl programming… and ive downloaded some of the (begginers) tutorials and code in this website. i know that they require the GLUT Library so i downloaded them. by the way im on Windows. I’ve compiled the codes… and they compiled. but when i run them it reports dll’s missing. 1st is the glut.dll, that was easily resolved by putting the glut.dll in the same diretory as the sample program, but then there is another error… it reports that “opengl.dll” is missing? i can’t seem to resolve this. When starting out as OpenGL Programmer… what libraries or API should i download and use… so that i can get on learning it… thanks a lot.

OpenGL is installed in Windows by default unless you have an early version (Windows 95 maybe and definitely earlier versions). Check in your C:\Windows\System directory and see if you have opengl32.lib and opengl32.dll as well as glu32.lib and glu32.dll - if not go to http://www.opengl.org/documentation/implementations.html and download opengl.exe (a self extracting archive containing the libs and dlls) from the linked site.

Originally posted by shinpaughp:
OpenGL is installed in Windows by default unless you have an early version (Windows 95 maybe and definitely earlier versions). Check in your C:\Windows\System directory and see if you have opengl32.lib and opengl32.dll as well as glu32.lib and glu32.dll - if not go to http://www.opengl.org/documentation/implementations.html and download opengl.exe (a self extracting archive containing the libs and dlls) from the linked site.
Is that the system or system32 folder?

It might be either actually. Different versions have different file/directory structures.