Need some input regarding drawing glyphs using vgdrawglyph

Hi,
I am new to openvg and currently writing some test cases for openvg1.1.
I need some help using fonts and text rendering in openvg1.1.

openvg1.1 spec says glyphs can be represented using VGPath objects or VGImage objects.
Now let us see
void vgSetGlyphToImage(VGFont font,VGuint glyphIndex,VGImage image,const VGfloat glyphOrigin[2],const VGfloat escapement[2]);
here

1. what shall be shall be contained in “glyphIndex” ?
  2. Is image is obtained by calling image = vgCreateImage(VGImageFormat format,VGint width, VGint height,VGbitfield allowedQuality) ?
    If so, should the image be filled using
    vgImageSubData(VGImage image,const void * data, VGint dataStride,VGImageFormat dataFormat,
    VGint x, VGint y, VGint width, VGint height)?

I transformed *png, *jpg … to openvg1.1 format.(different image formats like VG_sRGBX_8888, VG_sRGBA_8888 and so on …) using PvrTextool
but such converted data when used in vgdrawglyph() gives an image data instead of a Font or glyph! :cry:
Can some one help me as where did I go wrong?
Thank you
Deepak

There’s a thread here about how to render fonts already.

To recap.
A VGFont object is a container for “a font” and all that encompasses.
A Glyph is a single character.
so when you do vgSetGlyphToImage(), you are assigning a character to a certain glyph index.
For example - a picture of the letter ‘A’ (in a VGImage) to that character ‘A’ (ascii 0x41) - the glyphindex.
Displaying text is then a matter of telling VG to print glyph ‘A’ then print glyph ‘B’… all for some VGFont.

So, yes, make sure your VGImage is created normally, and filled with the data for the character you want it to represent. So, yes, use vgImageSubData to upload the glyph to the VGImage you will be using for that glyph. After setting the glyph, you can free the VGImage.

Hi Ivo,

Thank you for your post. :smiley:
But I need some more clarification regarding glyph rendering.