Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: gluCylinder and clip planes

  1. #1
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    21

    gluCylinder and clip planes

    I must be doing something wrong.

    I have a plain vanilla ortho view extending from 0.0 to 10.0 on the z axis. Now I render a cylinder using gluCylinder(), say with a height of 15.0 and all is well. It's shown with a height of 10.0, since that is the ortho "depth" along the z axis.

    Then I modify the ortho view z axis to extend from 1.0 to 10.0, and again render the same cylinder. Now the cylinder doesn't show at all. I would have expected it to be clipped by 1 unit and have a z extent of 9.0.

    Is it mandatory to have {0.0, 0.0, 0.0} within the viewing frustrum to be able to draw glu objects??

    Is this a gluCylinder() problem or what am I not considering?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro dletozeun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    1,367

    Re: gluCylinder and clip planes

    Maybe a piece of code about how you set the view and draw your cylinder would be helpful.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with clip planes on ATI
    By ehsan2004 in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2012, 01:57 AM
  2. OpenGL clip planes
    By Spooky in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2011, 08:21 AM
  3. max clip planes
    By Tanji in forum OpenGL: Basic Coding
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-27-2011, 04:34 AM
  4. User clip planes...
    By ebray99 in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 10:02 PM
  5. slow clip planes
    By irionar in forum OpenGL: Advanced Coding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-02-2002, 06:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Proudly hosted by Digital Ocean