glVertex Parameter's limit

Hi,
I am new to OpenGL and is trying to understand the very basics of it. I obssrved that in most of the examples, glVertex API parameters take the value from 0 to 1? I have the following question about glVertex:

• How does the parameters relate to the screen location? Suppose the screen(or the viewport) is 800 by 600 pixels, does glVertex(0.5,0.5,0.0) correspond to 400 pixels on X and 300 pixels on Y?

thx.

Actually glVertex parameters don’t relate to a screen position, but a vertex position in object space.

For instance, you want to draw a cube and its vertices coordinates are defined from its center. To do this, you move the center of the cube in world space where you want and then draw the cube giving its vertices coordinates with glVertex.

Now, in 2D, you have to set the viewport and projection matrix for orthographic projection and then draw vertices on screen with glVertex with only 2 coordinates. These coordinates are in the 2D space you set and can be in any range and not bound to [0 1].

See gluOrtho2D function reference page here.

If I take your example, this the code you need, to obtain this behaviour:

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
	glPushMatrix();
	glLoadIdentity();
	// set a 2D orthographic projection
	gluOrtho2D(0, 800, 0, 600);
	// invert the y axis, down is positive
	glScalef(1, -1, 1);
	// mover the origin from the bottom left corner
	// to the upper left corner
	glTranslatef(0, -600, 0);
	glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);

// then draw all you want, for instance:
        glBegin(GL_POINT);

// this vertexx is at (400,300) pixel coordinates
            glVertex2f(0.5,0.5);    

glEnd();

dletozeun,
Thanks for your quick reply. So the glVertex parameters value depend on the orthographic viewing volume you set? I am pasting a program from the book ‘OpenGL programming book’ for my easy understanding.