Out of resources problem

Hi,

This is probably a noob question, as I’m new to opencl programming. I’m currently using the ruby bindings and it’s working great so far. I’m writing an ifs fractal generator and having some problems with it. I’m using a geforce 9400 gt to run the calculations and it’s also shared with X on a fedora 10 box. The program runs fine for about 10 to 12 times, then I start to get enqueueing errors, -5 CL_OUT_OF_RESOURCES. X then starts having problems and random pixels on my display start dropping out. Moving a window is a cool effect because it just sort of dissolves. :slight_smile: X crashes and I have to reboot. :frowning:

I was thinking that the problem was either the card overheating, which doesn’t appear to be the case because I can let the card sit for awhile and the errors are still there. Or I’m filling the card up with my queued events. Would using clReleaseCommandQueue help my problem? I think my biggest problem is that I have been spoiled by ruby which takes care of all these issues, and it’s been a while since I have programmed in C. :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Grimm

The most likely problems are 1) a bug in the allocation code for your video card or 2) a bug in your code that is writing out of bounds of your OpenCL objects and corrupting other data. Neither of these are particularly easy to debug, unfortunately.

Thanks, I will double check my code and make sure that nothing is writing were it shouldn’t be. I did change the local_work_size to 32, I had it set to 16 and now it appears to be much better behaved. I don’t know if that should make any difference though?

Grimm

Ok I think I know why it’s crashing. I was setting the global_work_size too large (32000) and the card was running out of memory. I have changed the global size to 3200 and increased the number of internal loops that each kernel does. Now it is working with no problems. :slight_smile:

Grimm