how to make a non smooth zoom

Hello!

I’ve been trying to make a zoom on openGL without smoothing the pixels, cause I need to see each pixel when I zoom in the imagem. But I still didn’t have any success on this. I’m loading the image using SDL, then loading it like texture to openGL, and zooming with glTranslate(); I tried using glScale, but it still smooth the pixels. Is there any flag or function to disable the smooth on openGL?

Thx.

pixels?
are u talking about a texture? if so use GL_NEAREST instead of GL_LINEAR when u specify the texture_filtering

Yes indeed that’s the way to do this :slight_smile:

yeah, I’m talking about texture. I’m using this:

glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_NEAREST);

and it still smooth when I zoom in, is anything wrong in that?

hi, i might be wrong cause im a noob as well.

but i did some similar non-smoothing zoom feature for my openGL videoplayer, by using LINEAR for the texture, not NEAREST (isnt it? cause linear take the pixel as it is, while nearest smooths it?), and modify the z axis of the glTranslatef, with keyboard input :slight_smile:

I just tried using GL_LINEAR and it still smooth the image when I zoom in.

im sorry i was wrong, i dont think linear is the right solution for you.
in my app, if i use nearest, then the picture is jagged, so i use linear to load the real pixel value.
btw, i found nice sample to test texture filtering parameters:
http://www.xmission.com/~nate/tutors.html
the texture tutorial program.

For zoom, it is MAGnification filter you have to change :
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_NEAREST);

When you sampling a texture with GL_NEAREST, it will search the nearest texel in the texture for the given texture coordinates. So, this won’t be smooth. The center of the sampled pixel is represented as a red point on the image.