Getting Started / Reality Check

Hi, I’m currently in my second year of 3D Animation, and beginning to research what to do for my final project next year. I’m really interested in the power of gpu accelerated programs, and I’m currently looking at how I could use opencl to make some kind of plugin for Maya. I’m interested in fluid simulations so maybe that would be something I would look at, or accelerating the viewports/improving the realtime shading of the viewports.

I was wondering if this would be a feasible project given that I currently have no knowledge of C / opencl (I’ve only coded in Lua and some MEL), and have a year from now to complete the project.

If so, where would be the best place to start?

TL:DR can I learn opencl and create a maya plugin in less than a year with little prior knowledge?

Thanks for any advice/help in advance

Hi kraftman,