passing an array of char* to kernel function

hello,
I’m an OpenCL beginner and not a C++ professional, I’ve read the oclVectorAdd example in the OpenCL samples… I found that the arguments of the kernel function were float * (float pointers representing 3 arrays of floats)… I’ve got an idea of a GPU program in which I want to create a simple kernel function but this time I want to deal with an array of strings… since there are no strings the cl program I’m trying to send 2 arrays of char* as an argument to the kernel function… Just for testing the idea, I wrote this code:

__kernel void normalizer(__global char * documentStrings[], __global char * documentStringsOut[])
{ int i = get_global_id(0);
int strLen=sizeof(documentStrings[i])/sizeof(char);
for(int j=0;j<strLen;j++){
    char ch = documentStrings[i][j]; documentStrings[i][j]=ch++;}
documentStringsOut[i]=documentStrings[i];
}

But when I try to call the clBuildProgram I get this error: “invalid address space for array argument to __kernel function”

can anybody help me?!

The reason you are seeing an error is because you are declaring “documentStrings” and “documentStringsOut” as arrays of pointers to char (i.e. “char *foo[]”). Arrays of pointers are not allowed as kernel arguments.

There are ways to accomplish the sort of thing you are trying to do but they are rather complicated for a beginner.

If I were you I would try to implement the code first in plain C (with the restriction above about arrays of pointers not allowed) and only once you have the code working then think about porting it to OpenCL.

I agree with David’s suggestion to try this in plain C first, that will simplify your development work substantially. I will give you an additional hint as to how I could approach this though – since you can’t use pointers, the usual fallback is to use indices. Consider having a large buffer/array of chars, and instead of pointing at each string, have an index into the array to the start of your string.