How do I use Shaders correctly?

Hello,

I am just getting started developing Games with OpenGL ES 2.0 on Android and I have a Problem. I want to know how I can manage my Shaders. Therefor I have a little example:

Let’s say I want to render two primitives, a square and a triangle. Beside I have two Shader Programs each consists of one Fragment and one Vertex Shader. These are all compiled and installed.
I already know that I have to use Vertex Attributes and in OpenGL ES 2.0 there are at least 8 Attributes avaliable.
Now I want that the Square will go through the two Shader Programs but the Triangle should only passed through the first one.
What is the best way to do that?

Thank you very much.

Now I want that the Square will go through the two Shader Programs but the Triangle should only passed through the first one.

That doesn’t make sense. When you render an object, it goes to the screen. You can render it again (multipass), but that’s just rendering it again. It works just the same for shaders as it did before (with the possible exception for the need to use the “invariant” keyword). You render it once, change the appropriate state (in this case, the current program) and render it again.

Ok maybe I just don’t understand how this works. OpenGL ES is shader-based. When I want to render a primitive I need at least one Shader-Program. The Vertex-Data will be passed through the Vertex Attributes. But let’s say I want to render more than one primitives. How do I specify the Data for these two Primitives and send it to the Shader Program. Can anyone please give me an example? Sorry but I really don’t understand how this worḱs.

A values for an attribute is specified per-vertex.
So each primitive will get different values.
Read the tutorial in Alfonse signature, especially this section :
http://www.arcsynthesis.org/gltut/Basics/Tut02%20Vertex%20Attributes.html

Ok I think I understand now but one thing remains.