OpenCL books

Can anyone recommend a good OpenCL reference book? I’m new to OpenCL but I’m a seasoned programmer so I prefer reference style books to “step by step how to” style books. I found two that were published this summer that seem promising but they don’t have many reviews on Amazon yet:

OpenCL Programming Guide by Aaftab Munshi, Benedict Gaster, Timothy G. Mattson and James Fung
http://www.amazon.com/OpenCL-Programmin … 0321749642

Heterogeneous Computing with OpenCL by Benedict Gaster, Lee Howes, David R. Kaeli and Perhaad Mistry (Aug 31, 2011)
http://www.amazon.com/Heterogeneous-Com … 0123877660

Can anyone recommend either of theses or perhaps something else even better?

Thanks,
Adam Burr
Senior Research Associate
Blue Sky Studios
Greenwich, CT

FWIW I found the online documentation to be more than adequate, plus a few searches here and there. Although … the last programming language book I bought was for uni, “The (ANSI!) C programming language”, just on 20 years ago. I also had plenty of time to dabble.

I found the OpenCL spec itself is well written and easy to read. If you already know C, then this is the most useful for the language and host apis.

The AMD APP programming guide is also very good, and mostly applicable to other gpu’s. This helped with the understanding of the different memory hierarchies and processor topology which is key to getting performance. http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK … _Guide.pdf

Of those you list, the second book looks the better, but i’m only going on the reviews (particularly the 1-star on the first) and the fact that Lee Howes hangs around the amd forums a bit and obviously knows what he’s talking about.

Thanks, that is helpful, I will check out the AMD site next.

Where can I find the best/alternate documentation for the C++ API?

For example, I’m having trouble figuring out what types (T) are appropriate for all the possible cl_device_info values in this call:

template <typename T>