Installation, IDEs and a very newbie student

Hi, i’m new in this, and i dont know how start in OpenGL programming, i’ve downloaded freeglut, but, i don’t know if i’ve correctly installed, because, the IDE (codeblocks) send me a message :
"undefined reference to gluLookAt " :frowning: :frowning:

How can i fix it, and at least, how can i install the necessary for start correctly in this world.

you essentially need 2 different libraries:
– 1 to be able to create a window (which has nothing todo with opengl, example: GLFW)
– and 1 to make opengl functionality available in your application (example: GLEW)

there are many youtube videos that shows step-bystp what to do …

[QUOTE=JdeAses;1283897]the IDE (codeblocks) send me a message :
"undefined reference to gluLookAt "[/QUOTE]
That function is provided by the GLU library, which is commonly used by a lot of legacy OpenGL code. It’s less used with modern OpenGL code as many of the functions (including that one) only work with a compatibility profile context or an older version of OpenGL.

[QUOTE=john_connor;1283898]you essentially need 2 different libraries:
– 1 to be able to create a window (which has nothing todo with opengl, example: GLFW)
[/QUOTE]
It’s not really accurate to say that it’s “nothing to do with OpenGL”. Apart from a window, you also need an OpenGL context.

You don’t actually need a library to do that for you, but doing it yourself is a fair amount of work, requires some fairly specific knowledge, and the code involved is highly platform-specific (so it’s even more work if you want to support multiple platforms). So you’re better off using GLUT, GLFW or SDL if you want a window (possibly a full-screen window) for OpenGL rendering, or a GUI toolkit such as GTK, Qt, or wxWidgets if you want GUI features.

[QUOTE=john_connor;1283898]you essentially need 2 different libraries:
– and 1 to make opengl functionality available in your application (example: GLEW)
[/QUOTE]