rendering an indexed triangle array with vbo

Good day to all, i have an array of triangles where each element is an index to a corresponding vertex in a vertex buffer. Now i have uploaded the vbo and ibo into a vao , lets pretend i want to draw only a small set of triangles in a random order, let’s say i want to draw triangle 5, 24, 32 ,16 ,8 and so on . How can i achieve this without rebuilding the ibo for each frame ?
sorry but i am pretty new to opengl.
Thanks for your time

Use multiple draw calls; the parameters to all glDraw* calls allow you to specify a first (which with glDrawElements is the offset to the first) and count, so use them, because you don’t have to draw the entire buffer with each draw call.

Sorry i didn’t understand completely what you meant, wouldn’t this be very inefficient to have a drawcall for each triangle ???

glMultiDrawElements.

I’d try both glMultiDrawElements() and building the index array each frame, and see which is faster.

I wouldn’t take it for granted that glMultiDrawElements() will win for single-triangle batches.

It depends.

If you really really want to draw them without rebuilding your index buffer then this is one way of doing so, and it’s a tradeoff versus the cost of multiple draw calls versus the cost of rebuilding the index buffer.

glMultiDrawElements will also work but some drivers may implement that as a loop over a bunch of glDrawElements calls.

A third way, that’s probably going to seem unintuitive, is glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES), a bunch of glArrayElement calls (3 per triangle), then glEnd. This lets you keep your vertex buffer and dynamically index it without using an index buffer and may be fastest of all.