OpenCL Kernel Memory Optimization - Local vs. Global Memory

Hi,

I’m new to OpenCL and I consider using it for some graphics computation where using an OpenGL shader seems not to be natural. Before I actually do so I thought I’d try how much of a performance improvement I could get using OpenCL on my Nvidia GTX 460 over my CPU. For this reason, I implemented a simple skeleton skinning algorithm, once on the CPU, without multithreading but using the Eigen library, which provides SSE-optimized vector and matrix libraries, and once in an OpenCL kernel executing on the GPU. The vertices, bone matrices etc. are generated randomly on application start. I repeat the whole skinning several times so that it executes long enough to get meaningful timing results.

First I simply tried a kernel where I have as much work-items as I have vertices, each one generating one output vertex. I quickly saw that this is not a good idea because performance was even worse than on the CPU. I figured this was in essence a problem of too many memory accesses, mainly to the bone matrices, which are an array of float16-vectors that is addressed four times in each work-item. Then I changed the algorithm so that each work-item handles multiple output vertices, one after the other, so that I have less work-items. In each work-group I create a copy of the bone matrices in local space, and further accesses to these matrices come from local space. The interesting part of my C++ code looks like this:

#define NUM_BONES 30
#define NUM_VERTICES 30000
#define NUM_VERTICES_PER_WORK_ITEM 100
#define NUM_ANIM_REPEAT 1000

uint64_t PerformOpenCLSkeletalAnimation(Matrix4* boneMats, Vector4* vertices, float* weights, uint32_t* indices, Vector4* resVertices)
{
    File kernelFile("/home/alemariusnexus/test/skelanim.cl");

char opts[256];