Collada DOM memory leak issue.

I am new to Collada/DAE and I am wondering if I am doing something wrong or if there are memory leaks in the DOM.

In my application I have the following:

DAE* daeObject = new DAE;
daeObject->cleanup()  // I have tried without this as well
delete daeObject;

There are a ton of memory leaks when I do this, am I supposed to shut down some other way?

Thanks!

No you aren’t doing anything wrong… the code is just (edit: I removed my flaming since I was wrong in my assumptions when I wrote this post)
I see whats going on I’ll have this fixed, well maybe not all the memory leaking but definately a large majority of it, for the release of COLLADA 1.4 DOM Patch 1 which will hopefully be released by the end of the day today.

-Andy

Actually… Upon further inspection you are doing something slightly wrong.

dae::cleanup() is a static function and it is actually useless to call it from a non static context.

The proper way to exit your program would be to call

delete daeObject;
DAE::cleanup();

-Andy

Heres further explanation if you care about these details.
The first line in cleanup checks the DAEInstanceCount. If it is not 0 then it will not delete the static meta information which is causing your leak.
In the destructor the DAEInstanceCount is decremented. That is why you must call it statically after you delete your pointer to the DAE object.

Thanks very much alorino as that solved this problem and it now cleans up properly when I instantiate and delete the object. My second problem is that I’m wondering how to clean everything up.

daeObject->load( "file:///cube.dae" );
delete daeObject;

I get memory leaks as I guess cube.dae stays loaded. What do I have to do to clean up after this?

Thanks for your time.

me too, i have too many leaks, is it from collada or us?

DAE* dae = new DAE();
dae->load("test_tex.xml");
dae->unload("test_tex.xml");
delete dae;